Restore Hope.

Is our hope lost? Sometimes I feel like there is no hope left. I feel lost and a little confused. And I can’t understand why bad things happen to good people. So many questions run through my head.

The past year was a rough year for my family and I. It was my freshmen year of college, which was already stressful and scary. Bad events continued to take place, and I began to lose hope. I kept asking myself, “Why would God let something so terrible in my life happen?” My hope in God was disappearing and I knew that was the wrong path to take. One of my friends had this book with some bible verses in it. So she let me borrow it. It was the Complete Guide to the Bible, Student Edition by Stephen M. Miller. I read some of the bible verses and I began to pray, “God to help my family and I get through this time. Help us continue to worship you Lord. We are putting this all in your hands Lord.” The thing about prayer is that you can’t just pray words. You have to have faith that God will do the things you pray for. You have to believe that it really is all in God’s hands. That is one of the first steps to restoring hope.

Psalm 62:5-6

“Let all that I am wait quietly before God, for my hope is in him. He alone is my rock and salvation, my fortress where I will not be shaken.”

I continued to pray that God would help me through this tough time. Months went by, I began to completely lose hope that God was going to help me. I felt lost and hopeless. But I kept praying, and I can say proudly that God restored my hope and faith. Although things didn’t get better with my family, God worked in me. He never gave up on me. He helped me see that everything happens for a reason and that we will be okay if we are anchored in hope.

Hebrews 6:19

“We have this hope as an anchor for the soul”

Things might not always work out in your favor. But God has a plan. He’s watching over us and protecting us. In bad times like money problems, sickness, and death, we may see no plan no reason for this devastation. But God has a reason, and he will continue to work in our hearts if we just believe. When we begin to have doubt and lose hope, we need to pray and remember God is control and he will get us through this tough time.

I am still praying that God will help heal my family. I am asking Big that he will take the hurt away. It might not happen today or anytime soon. But I am not going to give up. I am going to continue to but my hope in the Lord because he will do great things. To find Bible verses about hope click here.

All it takes is a little hope.

Bible Students

 

 

Passion First

Passion-Based Learning. It sounds so intriguing and exciting and that’s because it is. A person’s passion can be anything. Everyone may have a different passion and that’s okay. It helps define who we are and make us each unique in our own way.

It’s clear to see that when a student is passionate about a specific subject that they are enjoying what they are learning. This is why Passion-Based Learning needs to be incorporated into classrooms all across the world. The first article I read by Saga Briggs was 25 ways to Institute Passion-Based Learning in the Classroom. As I read through all 25, a few stuck out to me. Share your passions with your students was the first one. I absolutely love this because I feel like once you share, your students could either relate to you or feel comfortable sharing their passion. When I was a senior in high school, we began a program called the 7 Mindsets. The 7 mindsets is a program teachers can work through with their classes to help encourage students to believe in themselves and their goals. One of the 7 mindsets that always spoke to me was Passion First. This is where each student in my class got the chance to share their passion with their classmates. Once we shared our passions we wrote down five people that would help us achieve our passions and our goals. I loved this project so much!

One thing that came to mind while reading Nine Tenets of Passion-Based Learning was how teachers can engage in every student’s passion. I started to think about smaller schools and how they differ from big schools. I came from a very small school (47 kids 9th-12th grade) so I knew every kid in the halls. When I think about teachers focusing on Passion-Based Learning I think it may be hard to focus on each students passion when the class sizes are bigger. The teacher doesn’t have as much time to engage with each student about their individual passions. What are your thoughts on class sizes affecting Passion-Based Learning?

Another idea that popped into my head while reading 25 ways to Institute Passion-Based Learning in the Classroom was letting students take control. This section talks about letting students pick classes that interest them. Coming from a small school, choices where slim to none. We didn’t really get to choose classes unless you were a student who was advanced. In bigger schools, students may get the opportunity to select a class they are more passionate about! Which I think is amazing!

One more question that I thought of while reading Nine Tenets of Passion-Based Learning was teacher-student relationships on social media. When I was in high school, I had a few teachers who were my friend on Facebook, and a few who said they wouldn’t be until I graduated. I have mixed feelings about this topic. Some teachers may have pictures of items on their Facebook that are inappropriate to share with students, but also some teachers have nothing to hide because they post clean appropriate things. What are your thoughts on being friends with your students on social media? Does it matter what grade they are in? If you post clean appropriate things is it okay? Let me know your thoughts!

Passions matter! Encourage your students to let their passions lead them, and once they find their passion they need to lead with passion!

 

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Digital Mutterings

Jalynn McClure

rebeccakraxberger

Digital Literacy 2017

lacey gojkovich

Getting into Digital Literacy

Discover WordPress

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.